A Little Memory

brooke redoThis story has been on my mind for awhile now and I wanted to share it.

Let me tell you a little story about Brooke.

I met Brooke through a mutual friend and without going into too much detail, Brooke was going through a rough time in her life.  My mutual friend asked me to do a photo shoot of Brooke, it was almost urgent.  Of course I agreed.

So Brooke and I set out to do this photo shoot and when she told me her urgency was that she was dying.  She wanted these photos for her daughter, so her daughter could always remember her mom as the vibrant person you see in this picture.  Brooke was a beautiful woman inside and out.

I got to know Brooke, which is what I like to do when I photograph people so I can show them in their best light.  I think Brooke’s true personality shows through in this photo.  Her beautiful spirit.

It wasn’t long after this session was completed that Brooke passed away.  Her whole family was grateful for the photos, a cherished memory to last 100 years.  This story always reminds me to do the best I can to photograph the present for your future memories.  These photographs are a look into the past.  Your grandkids may look at them one day to see if their eyes, or their nose look like yours.  Don’t worry about losing 10 pounds or if your hair is gray or if you hate your picture being taken, one day, someone will look at your cherished photo and simply say, I miss ___________.

http://www.brassfrogphotography.com

(Note: this session was done with a film camera and was digitally scanned in so  the quality is not that great)

Leave a Reply

